Media rights summary:
  • Image apdonovanmcnabb.jpg must be uploaded to the network.

Syndication Flag: FALSE
Linking Flag: FALSE
Content is published: TRUE
Original Source is empty: TRUE
Article may be syndicated: No
Article may be linked: No
McNabb in NFL.com bracket for greatest QBs ever
Share This Post

Is Donovan McNabb one of the greatest quarterbacks of all-time?

According to NFL.com’s third annual edition of Bracketology, he is in the running. 

Starting Thursday, fans will decide who the best quarterback of all-time is by picking from a field of 32 signal-callers chosen from throughout NFL history. The field was selected by a panel of NFL.com and NFL Network analysts and is divided chronologically into four brackets: Right Now, Generation X, MTV and Baby Boomer. 

McNabb is the No. 5 seed in the Generation X bracket, set to face No. 4-seeded Kurt Warner. 

So who should win this matchup? McNabb has more career touchdowns (234 to 208) than Warner, a better winning percentage as a starter (60 percent to 57 percent) and fewer interceptions (117 to 128). Of course, Warner won Super Bowl XXXIV and owns the three highest single-game passing yardage totals in Super Bowl history, while McNabb came up short against the Patriots Super Bowl XXXIX. 

The top three seeds in the Generation X bracket are Brett Favre, Troy Aikman, and Steve Young, respectively. 

NFL.com’s Bracketology has been kind to the Eagles before. Last year it voted on the greatest play of all-time, and the winner was DeSean Jackson’s 2010 walk-off punt return for a touchdown against the Giants. 

This year’s Bracketology will have five rounds of voting in a typical bracket style. The championship round will conclude on April 7.

Some other tidbits:

• Giants fans didn’t appreciate Jackson’s walk-off punt return being heralded the greatest play of all-time last year, and they won’t like that Eli Manning is the No. 8 seed in the Right Now bracket, seeded below even third-year Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson.

• McNabb is one of nine quarterbacks in the 32-quarterback field to never have won a Super Bowl.

• The other No. 5 seeds in the competition besides McNabb are Ben Roethlisberger, Warren Moon and Joe Namath.